University Divisions

Ultimate is a strong, well represented sport at University level with over 80 HE institutions taking part each year in a programme that offers competition in the disciplines of Mixed, Women's & Open and caters for beginners & experienced players alike. A typical season will see some 20 tournaments organised, both Indoors & Outdoors, on a regional & national basis.

For news, announcements and discussions of the University division please see the UniUltimate e-group or by joining the regional facebook groups which can be found on the staying informed page.

Universities play a very important role in the development of the Ultimate and each year hundreds of new students get hooked on this fantastic sport. Indeed many of the top players on the UK circuit had to wait until arriving at University to get their first taste of the game.

Ultimate is an official sport of the British Colllege and Universities Sports (BUCS), with both Mens and Womens Indoor and Open Outdoor Nationals worth BUCS points to the eight highest ranking institutions.


From 2015/16, Men's Outdoors will be contested via weekly league matches, in 5 regions, as detailed in this document.


For the Women's and Mixed divisions, and for Men's Indoors, we use these seven regions (combined into larger regions for Women):


Region 1 (Scotland & Northern Ireland): Aberdeen, Dundee, Edinburgh, Glasgow, Heriot-Watt, St Andrews, Stirling, and Strathclyde.


Region 2 (North East & North West): Central Lancaster, Chester, Durham, Lancaster, Liverpool, Manchester, Newcastle, Northumbria, and Salford.


Region 3 (Yorkshire & East Midlands): Bradford, DMU, Huddersfield, Hull, Leeds, Leeds Met, Leicester, Lincoln, Loughborough, Northampton, Nottingham, Nottingham Trent, Sheffield, Sheffield Hallam, and York.


Region 4 (East & London): Brunel, City, Essex, Hertfordshire, Imperial, KCL, LSE, Open University, Queen Mary's, Roehampton, UCL and UEA.


Region 5 (South East): Arts, Brighton, Chichester, Holloway, Kent, Oxford, Oxford Brookes, Portsmouth, Reading, Surrey, Sussex, and Winchester.


Region 6 (West Midlands & Wales): Aberystwyth, Bangor, Birmingham, Cardiff, Coventry, Gloucestershire, Keele, Staffordshire, Swansea, Warwick, and Wolverhampton.


Region 7 (South West): Bath, Bournemouth, Bristol, Exeter, Falmouth, Plymouth, Southampton, and UWE.

For the Women’s division, some of the regions are joined to create four regions:


Region A (Scotland & Northern Ireland): Includes Region 1.


Region B (North): Includes Regions 2 and 3.


Region C (East): Includes Regions 4 and 5.


Region D (West): Includes Regions 6 and 7.


Please note that the lists of teams in each region are not exhaustive and are there just to give an idea of the teams in each region. If you are in any doubt which region your institution falls into then please get in touch with someone on the university committee.

For more information about BUCS, please see their website.


If you would like to contact someone regarding University Ultimate please see the University Coordinators Committee page to see who to get in touch with.

BUCS Wednesday FAQv1_1.pdf802.38 KB